Caregiver Education

Certified Nurse Aide In-Service Education

These courses are designed to offer a computer based training (CBT) to satisfy the 24 hour in-service education requirement, which is part of the Certified Nurse Aide (CNA) renewal process (TAC; Title 40; Part 1; Chapter 94; Rule §94.9). “Effective September 1, 2013, a nurse aide renewing a certification must complete at least 24 hours of in-service education every two years that includes training in geriatrics and the care of residents with a dementia disorder, including Alzheimer’s disease.” 

CNAs may complete these courses in order to renew a listing of active status on the Nurse Aide Registry (NAR).

  • These courses are only one of many approved course options (requirements can be fulfilled through a nursing facility or an approved Nurse Aide Training and Competency Evaluation Program).
  • Each course satisfies 2 hours toward the 2 year requirement of 24 hours.
  • CNAs get 2 hours of credit for each course, as long as they score a minimum of 70% and have a copy of the learning certificate.
  • This is a new series of approved courses.
  • You may take the 12 hours in consecutive years to satisfy the 2 year, 24 hour in-service education requirement.

To document successful course completion, caregivers / CNAs must print a copy of the course certificate available at the end of the training and keep the certificate for documentation purposes. 

Your computer must have the following:

The course requires a recent version of the Windows Operating System.

In order to access the course, your internet browser must be set to allow pop-ups.

Browser: Internet Explorer, Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari. (We suggest you not use Internet Explorer, if possible.)

Printer: the ability to print hard copies of your learning certificate.

Modules 5 and 6 contain video links. Adobe Flash Player or QuickTime must be installed for video playback to function.


To take a training, click on a link below:

    Module 1: Texas Long-term Care Overview
    Module 2: Texas Long-term Care Settings
    Module 3: Quality of Resident Care
    Module 4: Culture Change and Resident Rights
    Module 5: Dementia Disorders
    Module 6: Resident Care for Dementia-related Conditions